Leaving Friday Harbor Back to DiscgographyAlbum: Leaving Friday Harbor
August 1999
Evening News
Quite simply, the Battlefield Band have done it again and created a peach of an album.

This is the second album by the present line up who have established themselves with both critics and more importantly their audience as the 'best yet'. Alan Reid (Keyboards/Vocals); John McCusker (Fiddle/Whistle/Accordion/Cittern); Davy Steele (Guitar/Bouzouki/Bodhran & Vocals) and Mike Katz (Small & Highland Pipes/Whistle & Bass).
The album has a high proportion of newly composed tunes & songs. Mike Katz has come up with fine & fiery pipe tunes with titles like 'Fifteen stubbies to Warragul' and 'Jesse the 'body' ventura's reel'. John McCusker, prolific as ever, again offers beautiful music including the title track 'Leaving Friday Harbor'. Davy Steele and Alan Reid have written excellent new songs like 'The last trip home' and 'The pleasure will be mine'.
Mix all this with a new look at great traditional music such as the Mason's Apron, The Sister Reel and songs like Logie O'Buchan and the straw man, and you have another classic Battlefield Band Album - a band that leads from the front, while carrying the past with them.

Click here to go to Temple Records To purchase this or any other Temple Records album, click on the Temple logo.


TRACK LISTING: Leaving Friday Harbor

1. Clan CoCo
The Road to Benderloch
Fifteen Stubbies to Warragul
7. One More Chorus
The Mason's Apron
The Mountain Road
The Last Trip Home
The Luckenbooth
Click here to listen or download
8. The Pleasure Will Be Mine
3. It's Nice To Be Nice
The Auld Toon Band
McCabe's Reel
9. Something for Jamie
10. The Sisters Reel
Marion & Donald
The Lassie with the Yellow Petticoat
Jesse "The Body" Ventura's Reel
4. The Straw Man
5. Leaving Friday Harbor
6. The 24th Guards Brigade at Anzio
The Melbourne Sleeper
MacRae's of Linnie
11. Logie O'Buchan
Logie's Waltz